Weekly Photo Challenge – Abandoned

An abandoned Land Rover?

Several years ago, while I was out walking in the Cotswolds with Harry my old dog, I stumbled across this beautiful series IIย (I think).

I was totally intrigued why it was there on the edge of a field, in the middle of nowhere, surrounded by bags of rubbish, broken glass and rolls of wire fencing.

Had it been stolen and become too hot to handle, was it a farmers trusty motor that had died. If that was the case, why hadn’t it been dismantled as from where I was standing, a lot of parts looked in quite good condition, the body certainly was.

I know I should really have looked for some id number on it, but I suddenly became very aware of how alone I actually was, and could someone be watching me ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

So I took a few photos, and made a hasty retreat.

A couple more here:

CRW_0009_JFR CRW_0012_JFR

32 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge – Abandoned”

  1. You knew that would catch my eye. Saw one or two in the Canaries that I snapped, not sure where they are in the pile of old snaps.

    I’m not up on the differences, but I’d say a II by the grille. II? IIa? that’s the problem. I’ll need to ask A.
    Interesting colour. Meanwhile, I’m trying to do a triple abandoned post without any cameras ๐Ÿ˜€ 3G not really up to it, although I might try, Halphone 5 still in hospital, and batteries for Canon powershot playing up not for the first time.

    The expert has now come back from Pippawalk and has confirmed you are right. ๐Ÿ™‚ Hinges usually being the give-away, standing proud. Clever Vicky.

    • LOL, I knew a Landy would catch your attention.
      It was the headlight position that made me think it was a II, but I wasn’t sure if it was the IIa or the III when they moved onto the wing.
      Shame, whatever it was to let it rot. The rag top was also in good condition.

      Sounds like your having a nightmare with your cameras.
      Will your abandoned post be what I think it will be? ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • I go on headlights too, but knew there was something about the doors and A pegged it straightaway. I’ll ask him later about when they moved to the wing. He used to have a II or IIa.

        It looked all right to me too. We would have snaffled that rag top in no time. A was given one some years ago, have you seen the post on Just Landies where he fitted it to the series? They go for a fair bit of money.

        iPhone camera is good but not much use when he won’t speak to laptop hal. I might buy some more batteries for Canon digi rather than invest in another camera.

        It will be a mix, if I get to have some working batteries or iPhone within a week ๐Ÿ˜€

        • Moved to wing on IIa. Due to some silly regulations. But his had them on the wing. So there you go. Off for a Podenco walk now ๐Ÿ˜€

          • Thank you A ๐Ÿ™‚
            What was the regulation? I bet it was something to do with the lights having to be as wide as the Landy for the export market.
            I know that’s why the MGB had to change the chrome bumper.

            Enjoy your walk ๐Ÿ™‚

            • He thought it was about the American export market. Typical ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

              Snows runs me ragged at the weekend. I think he gets excited when A is home, so he ends up going out more often. I’ve got BFD lying next to me now ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. […] Weekly Photo Challenge โ€“ Abandoned | Pic a colour 4 Me […]

  3. […] Weekly Photo Challenge โ€“ Abandoned | Pic a colour 4 Me […]

  4. Such a shame to let the Rover rot away surrounded by garbage and junk. Seems sad to me to let a vehicle go down like that. Nice pics and I think you were wise to make a hasty retreat.

  5. oh wow, what a find. how unusual. and as you say, a bit creepy. seems to fit right in with the mood of Midsomer Murders which is on at the moment ๐Ÿ™‚
     
    great job, DT, by the way. what a striking colour. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • LOL, Midsomer Murders, I love that program, but if that had crossed my mind when I was there, I don’t think I’d even have hung around to take any photos, it would have been a faster than hasty retreat….if that’s possible ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Yes DT, I initially thought, oh not grey AGAIN, but I love the colour, and I thought it worked perfectly with the image.

  6. […] Weekly Photo Challenge โ€“ Abandoned | Pic a colour 4 Me […]

  7. […] Weekly Photo Challenge โ€“ Abandoned | Pic a colour 4 Me […]

  8. This is one of my favorite subject and you did a nice job of capturing it. Everything where I live is surrounded by fences, mostly barbed wire. It seems people out in the boonies don’t welcome uninvited visitors, even to take photos.

    One time, I was driving around with my camera taking photos of old barns and someone came rushing up behind me (two people, actually) in an old pickup and cut me off as I was getting ready to turn left at an intersection. He pulled up next to my window and started getting all hot and bothered. Everything worked out, but I can appreciate your wariness in your situation.

    As for me, for this theme I would normally I go after old abandoned farm houses and barns, but this time I decided to do something a little bit different. You’re welcome to come and see my take on the matter. ๐Ÿ™‚
    http://fstopfantasy.wordpress.com/2014/03/02/weekly-photo-challenge-abandoned/

  9. Wow – it does make you wonder, doesn’t it?! Good choice!

  10. […] Weekly Photo Challenge โ€“ Abandoned | Pic a colour 4 Me […]

  11. […] Weekly Photo Challenge โ€“ Abandoned | Pic a colour 4 Me […]

  12. […] Weekly Photo Challenge โ€“ Abandoned | Pic a colour 4 Me […]

  13. […] Weekly Photo Challenge โ€“ Abandoned | Pic a colour 4 Me […]

  14. Hi Vicky, great subject ๐Ÿ™‚

    Sorry I missed this post but once again WP seems to have dropped you off my reader ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    I believe it is an early IIa (pre-68 when the headlamps moved to wing as already mentioned above) as the headlamp surrounds are flat rather than the Chromed/Domed rings on the II’s (as on my own Ciggy)

    Such a shame for it to be rotting away, somebody needs to rescue it ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you, and for the extra info too.
      I wonder how many other vehicles on our roads have such enthusiastic followers.

      WP really does play up, I’ve just had to approve your comment, although you’ve commented many times before. It should only do that for new commenters.

      I often wonder if is still there, I need to remember where it was and go and have a look ๐Ÿ™‚

      • I can only really think of one other group of car enthusiasts that rival old Land Rover owners and that would be classic VW Beetle/campervan owners. They too have big gatherings, a big social scene and manufacturers still producing new parts to keep them on the roads. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Might be worth putting a note inside asking if it is for sale or to advise the owner that it will be worth a fair amount of money and to get it on ebay! An early largely original Series 11a even in poor condition could be worth ยฃ1500+ in todays market.


Leave a Reply

