Weekly Photo Challenge – Nostalgia

I don’t think there are many folk in the world that don’t feel a pang of nostalgia at the sight of a steam engine.

This engine – The Flying Scotsman – is probably one of the most famous to provoke this feeling.

It is housed in the The National Railway Museum, York, where it is now waiting restoration work.

I was lucky enough to see this iconic engine in action in 2005 when I visited Didcot Station, which is where I took these photos.

Designed by Sir Nigel Gresley, it was built in Doncaster for the London & North East Railway in 1923.

In 1934 it clocked 100mph, officially the first locomotive to reach that speed.

After 40 years of service, it was eventually retired  in 1963.

It has changed hands several times since then, touring America and Australia. During the Australian tour it recorded the longest ever non-stop run by a steam locomotive, travelling 422 miles.

In 2004, it became publicly owned, after a successful bid which included £415,000 raised by the public and £365,000 donated by Sir Richard Branson, plus a £1.8m grant from the National Heritage Memorial Fund.

CRW_0050_JFRCRW_0045_JFR

 

Not Grey again!!!!!

Word Press Duotone, what are you playing at?

 

11 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge – Nostalgia”

  1. Great shots Vicky and I used to love going for train rides. Loved the smell of the train cars and the leather seats. Lovely entry and you had me nostalgic indeed. 😀

  2. Living near the train line has the occasional consolation for us of having front row seats to see and hear not just the suburban commuter trains but the old restored steam & disel trains. The G.O. and I both like them, and have loose plans to do a day trip when the details come together. It would be great to do a trip on The Flying Scotsman. I wonder after they restore it if it will be made operational again. Very nostalgic.

    • The images you’ve posted of your view over the track, you have a fantastic vantage point 🙂

      Where my mum lives the rail line from York to Leeds runs at the end of the road. I can remember years ago my dad would often say the Flying Scotsman had gone past again. I can only think it must have been en route back to the railway museum after another display somewhere.

      I would like to see it in operation again.

      • Funnily enough I’ve lived near a rail line many times over the years… and this isn’t the closest… I spent a couple of months living in a caravan in my aunt’s back yard, a couple of metres from the country train line, and less than 20 metres from the signal (with bells) crossing. As well, the church bells across the road rang the quarter hour. In the end I slept through it all 🙂

        Sadly, I’m old enough to remember when coal trains were run of the mill, not nostalgic tourist attractions.

        • I do think we adjust to the sounds or even lack of sounds around us, only noticing it when we move elsewhere.

          Nothing sad about remembering the old coal trains, it’s something sadly missing for the youth of today.

  3. Embarrassing comment of the day. I have never been to the York RM. I have been to the Bradford Film and whatsit one though.

    I think old transport is a class subject for nostalgia, old ships, old trains, old vehicles, even old ‘planes.

    This reminds me of the steam trains in Yks (Haworth and Pickering) and my days crossing the Pennines in beautiful compartments of inlaid wood, with each wood marked individually in the compartment.

    As for DT, too much dark, heavily saturated in the green, plus the trees, the puff of smoke and the grey sky. Bricks and number plate also dull in colour – hence the default. Not that I know how DT works.

    I always get my trains confused. FS and Rocket for example. Fantastic examples of British engineering. Where has it gone? 😦

    Pleased to hear FS is now publicly owned though. Whatever that may mean.

    • No!!!! That has really surprised me!

      I have been several times, and never tire of visiting. It is free to get in, but they have a donation box. There may be some tight arses that chose not to donate, but in general, I feel it draws more folk in who in turn will donate what they can afford, which probably generates more cash in the long term. I personally am always put off by a high entrance fee, but will donate freely if I feel a visit was worth it.

      Mallard, the engine that holds the words fastest steam record, is also housed in York.

      I’m sure the FS has done the Pickering line, so it could have been the one.

      DT is puzzling, I did a test post with the other two photos, after I’d uploaded this post, the name plate photo gave a mushroom coloured background (I’d have been certain that would produce green), and the other image a salmon red colour!!!

  4. I know, I told you I was embarrassed. I saw it being set up and all that, walked past it and, just, never went in. But have you been to the bradford one Ms camera person?

    I don’t like high entrance fees, but I have paid some and found them worthwhile. I dislike paying for visiting cathedrals for example. I was reading something earlier about a high entrance fee (well high to me) and I wrinkled up my nose. I wd actually pay for the railway museum but I doubt I will get there. Bit like I won’t get to walk the Pennine Way 😦

  5. haha, you are getting your money’s worth with the grey as well, i see. better than Mustard, i suppose. but green would have been such a perfect choice here, i would have thought.
    DT aside, i love trains of all kinds, and this steam engine is a beauty. enjoyed this post! thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

