Sonel’s black & white photo challenge – Bridges

I took this image with my EOS10 SLR camera and Ilford 100 Delta b/w film, developing the film and printing the image myself when I was doing my C&G in photography.

It was taken at the top of the famous Lickey Incline near Barnt Green, just south of Birmingham.

According to Wiki the Lickey Incline is ‘the steepest sustained main-line railway incline in Great Britain. The climb is a gradient of 1-in-37.7 (2.65%) for a continuous distance of two miles (3.2 km)’

The bridge in the distance is the M42 motorway.

The photo below, another taken with the same media and processed myself, is of the ruins of the old lead mines nr Pateley Bridge in Yorkshire.

IMG_0003

It’s interesting to see DT’s take on the background colour.

These b/w images which were scanned from negs have given a totally different shade of grey to the previous b/w photo challenge images, which had been changed to b/w in Photoshop.

7 comments on “Sonel’s black & white photo challenge – Bridges”

  1. The darker, and much nicer grey was the first thing I thought of when I saw this post. But don’t you think the tonality in that top image is totally different to a colour converted to B&W? The saturation just looks something else again. I love the clarity of the chippings or whatever they are. Is that the rare British sunlight on the rails?

    I can never understand those percentages for gradients. To me a gradient is 1 in 4 or something like that.

    • Yes, rare British sunlight 😀
      I could actually see the rays of sunlight coming down between the two bridges, it was quite eerie where it caught the rails.
      I agree, percentage gradients don’t sound anywhere near as interesting as the old 1 in ? type, which made far more sense.

  2. A stunning shot indeed! What a beautiful place that is indeed. Thanks for taking part and for sharing. Much appreciated. 😀

  3. Can we choose winners in this challenge? If so these 2 pics have my vote. I love the tonality… I think that is the word I’m looking for, and light in the Lickey Incline pic especially, and the texture and shapes in the Pateley Bridge pic.

  4. very cool clicks! the sunlight in that first image is very striking. and this is a very respectable grey background. nice job, DT. 🙂


Leave a Reply

