Sonel’s black & white photo challenge – Neighbourhood

 

Probably not quite my neighbourhood, as it’s about thirty miles away. This image, another changed from colour to B/W is of the old water mill at Lower Slaughter, Gloucestershire.

I have a passion for infrared photography, and during my film days, I took many rolls with this media, so imagine my joy, when I found with a click of a button in Photoshop, I can get almost the same effect.

 

Closer to home, the Arrow Valley Lake, which is about ten minutes away.

IMG_3657

 

Even closer to home, and in my garden, a sparrow on the feeder, enjoying some suet pellets. Perhaps this should have been in the previous challenge for nature.

P1020270

 

 

 

9 comments on “Sonel’s black & white photo challenge – Neighbourhood”

  1. Wow! These are all stunning shots indeed! I just love them all!!!! Thank you so much for taking part in the challenge Vicky! Much appreciated. ๐Ÿ˜€ *hugs*

  2. And what, for the benefit of the dull ones, might I ask is infra-red photog?

    Anyway, I love the lighting in the first one. I can’t resist the bird shot either, just lovely. I can never take birds ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Apart from seagulls who haven’t learned to fly.

    Now don’t tempt me to take part in this challenge (thinks, Gib buildings, Spanish ones, neighbourhood mmm) as I don’t like blogs full of challenges!

    • With the use of special IR film, IR photography records the red end of the light spectrum that we can’t see, and can give some interesting results. It can be done in b/w or colour, though colour doesn’t interest me at all.
      You posted a fabulous shot of a white Spanish farmhouse a few months ago, with glorious blue skies……now that would look amazing in b/w……go on, give it a try ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Thanks for the explanation/s.

        I was faffing around on iPhoto with a couple of pix and didn’t realise until I had done it that I hadn’t saved the original so they are permanently b&w now! I know the pic you mean. I have quite a lot of Spanish shots like that, so I’ll have a look for some with high contrast. The ones I fiddled with yesterday were architectural detail anyway, so the theme would fit together. I wonder if I should try and manipulate DT with a coloured border? …

        • That’s the one thing that annoys me about iPhoto, I haven’t dabbled with it much, but from what I can see, a copy of the image has to be made first, otherwise any changes are permanently kept and there seems no reverting to original.
          Excellent idea about the coloured border for DT, otherwise all photos I post for Sonel’s challenge will be on a boring grey background…..I might have a play in a bit. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. I think your sparrow definitely qualifies as neighbourhood, and desirable at that ๐Ÿ™‚ The B&W is interesting. It seems like I feel the colours, know they are there, like at night when you turn out the light.

    • The sparrow is one of the ‘sparrow gang’ (our nickname for them) that lives in the hedge, they all come out together, take it in turns to feed, then all go back home again ๐Ÿ˜€
      I know what you mean about seeing the colours, doing it in reverse is half the battle of knowing what would look good in b/w.


Leave a Reply

