Weekly Photo Challenge – Colour

When I first saw this photo challenge, I thought what color colour?……red?, blue? yellow? green? It could be a whole rainbow of colours.

Then I remembered a photo I’d taken several years ago.

While sat at my computer looking out of the window at the black sky, the sun suddenly made an appearance, followed by the most stunning rainbow I have ever seen.

Knowing how quick it had appeared, I knew it would probably vanish just as quick, so I grabbed the only thing I had near to me which was my mobile phone (a Sony), and snapped a few pics.

It was impossible to get the whole rainbow in with one shot, so the image above is a stitched photo of two separate ones that I took.

Below are the two actual photos used to make the stitched one.

Dscf0022

Dscf0024

Ha! and what a surprise, all the colours of the rainbow and DuoTone chose grey!!

13 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge – Colour”

  1. True colours! Awesome shots. It’s rare to get the full bow like that!

  2. That is a lovely one for colour Vic.

    And I so admire your stitching. Can’t see the join at all. V nicely done. (unlike my overall hems the other day).

    Laughed at the grey though as soon as it came up ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚
      I didn’t take them with the intention of stitching them, it was only when I looked at them that I thought it might be possible.
      I can see the errors, but it’s good to know they’re not too obvious ๐Ÿ™‚
      I would really love to know how the background colours comes about.

  3. I love the photo and also am very impressed with your stitching. I’ve never seen as rainbow across such a black sky, and double as well. Mobile phone cameras have come a long way. And yes, what is it with the grey…

    • Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚
      I was really impressed with the phone’s photographic capabilities.
      It was a Sony Z610 flip phone that I had for over six years.
      Battered and well worn, I passed it on to T when I got my iPhone, and it is still going strong,

  4. Gosh, what a beautiful image! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Nature’s finest colors! Great capture.

  6. can’t believe i overlooked this post, Vicky. wow!!! that’s all i can say. simply striking. thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

